Monday, October 14, 2013

It's Monday! What are You Reading?


It’s Monday! What are you Reading? (#IMWAYR) is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys with a kid/YA-lit spin hosted by Kellee at Unleashing Readers and Jen at Teach Mentor Texts.

Past Reads: A long weekend = a lot of reading time! Over the last few weeks, I’ve read some phenomenal books, books I couldn’t wait to share with my students after finishing them.

    
                                            

Frozen in Time by Mitchell Zuckoff - an enlightening nonfiction read. I learned SO much from this book, plus it’s told as an engaging story, not dry and textbooky. With all of my WWII reading, I’ve never come across this story. It’s not quite Unbroken good, but still a good read nonetheless.

Just One Day by Gayle Forman - I literally read Just One Day in just one day - so good! It has romance, it has Shakespeare, it has travel...I loved it. Of course I immediately put Just One Year on hold at my library because I NEED to know Willem’s story.

I Heart You, You Haunt Me by Lisa Schroeder - this book has been making my female students cry in class for the last few weeks. I snatched it up for the long weekend, and I completely understand their show of unabashed emotion. A beautiful verse novel packed with oh-so-many feelings.

Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan - a poignant and powerful piece of literature. I;m not sure what else to say, other than David Levithan is wonderful for putting this much-needed point of view out there. Beautiful!

The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau - I officially ended my self-imposed dystopian hiatus with this book and, man, am I glad I did. This is a much read for fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Legend.

Current Reads: Due to a student plea, my current read jumped the line, so to speak. I borrowed The Evolution of Mara Dyer from our school library the day after finishing The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. I’ve put the book off for a few weeks due to some upcoming public library due dates. One of my students recently finished The Unbecoming and is dying for The Evolution. I promised her I’d get right to it; not like she had to twist my arm after how much I love the first book in the trilogy.

Here’s the goodreads summary of the book:

Mara Dyer once believed she could run from her past.
She can’t.

She used to think her problems were all in her head.
They aren’t.

She couldn’t imagine that after everything she’s been through, the boy she loves would still be keeping secrets.
She’s wrong.

In this gripping sequel to The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, the truth evolves and choices prove deadly. What will become of Mara Dyer next?

Future Reads: Looking back at past posts, I realized I very rarely follow what I write down here. Some new book pops up on twitter, a hold becomes available at the library, or a student insists I read the book he just finished so he can talk about it with someone. Assuming something like that doesn’t happen, here are the books currently stacked up on my nightstand: Embrace by Jessica Shirvington, Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein, The Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White, and Ghost Hawk by Susan Cooper. Phew, that’s a lot of good reading ahead of me!

      

What are you reading? What have you just finished? What are your top recommendations? Leave me a comment as I'm always looking for books to add to my To-Be-Read list!

12 comments:

  1. I want to read two boys kissing like ASAP! I've only read The Realm of Possibility out of all of David Levithan's books but I've heard they're all wonderful! Also I've noticed that EVERYONE is talking about The Testing lately so I will probably end up reading that one too. I haven't read much YA distopia either lately because I read so much of it last year!

    ReplyDelete
  2. You have done wonderful reading. I have nothing for months now!

    Here is my post

    ReplyDelete
  3. Seems like you had an awesome reading week! :)

    Here is our list

    By the way, we are giving away a signed ARC of Wild Cards by Simone Elkeles on the blog. Make sure to stop by and enter! :)

    Andy @ Owl Always Be Reading

    ReplyDelete
  4. I have a student begging me to read The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer...I really need to bump that up the list. Have a great week! http://wp.me/pzUn5-1HX

    ReplyDelete
  5. Wow...lots of books read.

    ENJOY your upcoming week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver's Reviews
    My It's Monday, What Are You Reading

    ReplyDelete
  6. This is a fabulous list of books! I know what you mean about wanting to get the book right to your students when you finish. I am so intrigued by Frozen in Time...I will have to look for it. I love the Mara Dyer books! Have a great reading week.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I love I Heart You, You Haunt me! One of my favorites! I also love Gayle Forman but haven't read Just One Day Yet. I would like to say that I think David Levithan is brilliant and am really looking forward to reading Two Boys Kissing. I haven't read the Mara Dyer series but have heard awesome things. Thanks for sharing all of these great reads!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I've never read a verse novel. This one looks like it would make a good book to read. Happy Reading!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm so glad to have found your blog. I love that you read books on your students' recommendations so that they have someone to chat with about them! Oh. my. that brings tears to my eyes. You are passing the love down to the next generation. We need more of you out there. Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  10. The Testing sounds pretty good, and I've seen a couple of good reviews too. May be adding that to my list.

    Thanks. Have a good reading week.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Wow looks like you have an awesome week ahead of you. Happy reading! :)

    By the way, we are celebrating 300 Facebook “Likes” on the blog so make sure to stop by and enter!

    Our list
    Andy @ Owl Always Be Reading

    ReplyDelete
  12. Hi Jen,
    I finished Ghost Hawk a few weeks ago, I will enjoy reading your thoughts on it! I found myself enjoying the book after the big "event." Have a great reading week!

    ReplyDelete